DNA origami, another word for artificial complex DNA superstructure

(Click here for the latest posts)

I find it amazing that scientists are able to tinker with DNA to generate an apparent infinite variety of two and three dimensional objects that are incredibly complex, detailed, and highly symmetrical, some like snowflakes. You can learn more about this nanotechnology by clicking on the link below:

http://www.nature.com/nature/journal/v440/n7082/pdf/440283a.pdf

So my question is this: Why is it so difficult to connect the dots here? If man can generate such a wide array of DNA superstructures, why can’t nature? More to the point, the ability to exploit DNA in such a fashion is more than mere coincidence. Nature has been using complex DNA superstructures for eons to generate the chromosomes necessary for the complexity of multicellular life that now exists on this planet.

Natural DNA Origami

Hypothetical natural DNA “origami”           (circa 1991)

Learn more about natural DNA “origami” by reviewing this blog or contacting Dr. Frank Abernathy: fabernathy@sbcglobal.net

About frankabernathy

I am a retired cell biologist and alumnus of Ohio State University. I became interested in chromosomes as far back as the 1960's when I wrote a term paper on the effects of radiomimetic drugs on chromosomes. I was fascinated at how they could break apart and reform new structures so easily. I became further involved in the early 1970's after taking a cytogenetics course at the University of Arkansas. I took that knowledge with me to Ohio State in 1980 where I eventually worked on my research and completed my Ph.D. dissertation, "Studies on Eukaryotic DNA Superstructure". My studies and later research suggested that the DNA within the eukaryotic chromosome is not the simple, linear molecular thread so widely suggested in all the classic textbooks published today. Instead, it may be the culmination of a geologically rapid set of endosymbiotic events where microorganisms plug into each other to create something greater than themselves. Feel free to contact me at fabernathy@sbcglobal.net.
This entry was posted in What are they?. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DNA origami, another word for artificial complex DNA superstructure

  1. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However, how can we communicate?|

  2. I have read several good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much effort you put to make such a fantastic informative website.

  3. Do you have any video of that? I’d care to find out some additional information.

Leave a Reply

