Can the linear chromosome model be saved?

(Click here for the latest posts)

In my last post (just below this one) I indicated that the linear chromosome model shown in textbooks may violate the second law of thermodynamics because of the sizes of DNA circles that would have to be stitched together from linear fragments to generate double minute chromosomes released by drugs or radiation. A possible exception to this violation may be the known fact that our chromosomes have “loops” of DNA somehow “stitched” together at the linear core of the chromosome. It is possible that the double minutes may have replicated around these loops to generate large circles of DNA without violating the second law of thermodynamics, releasing them into the nucleus as self replicating chromosomes. If so, then, upon destruction of the chromosome, it should merely fall apart into thousands of  linear fragments. After all, loops are not circles, right?

Circles crop

About frankabernathy

I am a retired cell biologist and alumnus of Ohio State University. I became interested in chromosomes as far back as the 1960's when I wrote a term paper on the effects of radiomimetic drugs on chromosomes. I was fascinated at how they could break apart and reform new structures so easily. I became further involved in the early 1970's after taking a cytogenetics course at the University of Arkansas. I took that knowledge with me to Ohio State in 1980 where I eventually worked on my research and completed my Ph.D. dissertation, "Studies on Eukaryotic DNA Superstructure". My studies and later research suggested that the DNA within the eukaryotic chromosome is not the simple, linear molecular thread so widely suggested in all the classic textbooks published today. Instead, it may be the culmination of a geologically rapid set of endosymbiotic events where microorganisms plug into each other to create something greater than themselves. Feel free to contact me at fabernathy@sbcglobal.net.
This entry was posted in Fallacies in science, What are they?. Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Can the linear chromosome model be saved?

  1. Isabell says:

    I am in fact grateful to the owner of this site who has shared this enormous article at at this place.

  2. Very worthwhile information!Ideal! just what I
    was searching for!

  3. Fascinating post, I’m going to spend more hours learning about this subject.

  4. pschyic says:

    I ran across your website last week and began to follow your site content consistently.
    I haven’t left a comment on any sort of blog site just yet but I was considering to start soon. It’s truly exciting
    to actually contribute to an article even if it’s only a blog.
    I really liked reading through a number of your articles.
    Great articles no doubt. I will keep visiting your
    blog frequently. I learned lots from you. Thank you!

  5. This is the kind of information I’ve long been looking for.
    Many thanks for posting this information.

  6. Yes bookmaking this wasn’t a terrible idea. Excellent post!

  7. I had been honored to receive a call from a friend
    as he discovered the key guidelines shared on the website.
    Browsing your article is a true wonderful experience. Many thanks for thinking of readers like me,
    and I wish you the very best.

  8. The good and also insightful articles or blog posts keep me returning here again and again. thank you so much.

  9. Hey there, You have done an admirable job. I’ll certainly digg it and for my
    part recommend to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefiting from this excellent website.

  10. I am so thankful for this post and many thanks for
    sharing it with us.

  11. Excellent article, I just passed this to a co-worker who was carrying out a little bit of research on that.
    And he actually ordered me lunch simply because I discovered it for him.

  12. Amazing! This can be one of the most useful blogs i’ve ever arrive across on this subject.
    Actually this is great. I’m also an experienced in this topic
    therefore I can understand your hard work.

  13. Hello there! Excellent articles here. please do keep us updated.

  14. Helpful information. Lucky me I discovered your web site by chance,
    and I am surprised why this coincidence didn’t took place earlier!

    I bookmarked it.

  15. I am genuinely thankful to the owner of this web page who has
    shared this impressive post at at this place.

  16. Remona says:

    Thanks for any other wonderful article. Where else may anybody get that kind of information in such an ideal manner of writing?

    I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the look for such information. http://www.uswa.edu.pk/index.php/component/k2/itemlist/user/35294

  17. Sadie says:

    If you desire to obtain a great deal from this post then you have to apply such methods to your won web site. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gran_Canaria/074/3

  18. Isabel says:

    Awesome website you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics discussed
    here? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get
    feedback from other experienced people that share the
    same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Bless you! http://itealmendralejo.es/index.php/component/k2/itemlist/user/183838

  19. poker online says:

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think
    about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect
    , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.

    Thanks

  20. Augustus says:

    Hi my loved one! I wish to say that this article is awesome, nice written and come with almost all significant infos.
    I would like to look more posts like this .

  21. Kia says:

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post!
    It is the little changes which will make the most important changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

  22. I was wondering iif you ever considered changing the layout
    oof your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve
    got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images.
    Maybe youu could space it out better?

  23. Selene says:

    Hello to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit of this blog; this web site consists of awesome
    and in fact good stuff in favor of readers.

  24. What’s up colleagues, how is the whole thing, and what you wish for to say concerning this
    paragraph, in my view its really awesome in support
    of me.

  25. My relatives all the time say that I am killing my time here at net, however I
    know I am getting experience everyday by reading such good content.

  26. broderie says:

    Pretty section of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Any way I’ll be subscribing for your feeds or even I fulfillment you access persistently fast.

  27. Keep up the great work , I read few blogs on this website and I believe that your websiteis definitely interesting and has plenty of excellent info.

  28. I like this website it’s a work of art! Glad I discovered this on google.

  29. When I found this website I went on reddit to share it to others.

  30. Bebe says:

    Hello there, Nice post. I’ll be your regular visitor.

  31. Ezra says:

    After researching several posts in your web site now, and I in fact love your way of
    blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Please take a
    look at my web page too and let me know your opinion.

  32. I’m actually loving the design and layout of your site.
    It’s very easy on the eyes which makes it far more
    pleasant for me to come here and visit often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Superb work!

  33. Grateful to be one of the several visitors of this excellent website.

  34. Consequently, after spending much time on the internet
    at past We’ve discovered anyone that surely does know very well what they’re speaking
    about thank you very much wonderful blog post.

  35. Thanks for the good blog. It was very helpful
    for me. Keep sharing such ideas in the future
    as well. This was actually what I was trying to find, and I’m glad to came
    here! Thanks for sharing the such information with us.

  36. disqus.com says:

    Some truly quality blogs on this site, saved to
    my bookmarks.

  37. Louis says:

    Your site has the same post as another author however
    i like yours much better.

  38. I can’t recall the last time I really enjoyed a piece of
    writing just as much as this one. You have gone beyond
    my expectations on this subject matter and I totally agree with your points.
    You have done well with this.

  39. I truly appreciate your work , Great post.

  40. My dear goodness! an incredible article dude. Thank you for sharing it.

  41. I am usually to blogging and i actually thank you for content regularly.
    This information has truly grabbed my interest. I will bookmark your web site as well as keep on checking for more information.

  42. I actually prize your piece of content, Great post.

  43. Hello i’m a first timer here. I discovered this site and I find it genuinely useful.
    I hope to provide something back as well as aid others much like you helped me.

  44. Thank you for this wonderful posts. I was wondering whether you had been planning
    of publishing similar posts to this. Keep up writing outstanding articles!

  45. I found simply the information I already
    searched throughout the place and simply couldn’t encounter.
    What a perfect website.

  46. I wanted to say I appreciate you providing these details, you’re doing an excellent job with the site…

  47. Tom says:

    Many thanks for this amazing post, I am pleased I discovered this web site on the search
    engines.

  48. There are certainly a couple more details to take into account, but thank
    you for sharing this info.

  49. Garfield says:

    Amazing! This could be among the most useful blogs we have ever came across about this subject.
    Wonderful. I am also an expert in this topic so I can understand your effort.

  50. tupalo.com says:

    Great post, I am going to shell out much more time researching
    this subject matter.

  51. locksmith says:

    I’m surely bookmarking this website and sharing it with my acquaintances.
    You will be getting a lot of visitors to your site
    from me!

  52. Thank you, I have been looking for info regarding this subject matter for a
    long time and yours is the greatest I have found so
    far.

  53. I have been looking into a few of your stories and i should say great stuff.
    I will surely bookmark your site.

  54. visit here says:

    WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for website

  55. website says:

    Useful information. Lucky me I found your website by chance,
    and I am stunned why this coincidence didn’t took place earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  56. more says:

    Many thanks for this marvellous post, I am happy I discovered this web site on search engines.

  57. I’ve been absent for quite a while, however I remember why I used to love this site.
    Many thanks, I will try and check back more regularly. Excellent posts btw.

  58. Hey there! Do you have Twitter? I’d like to follow
    you if that will be alright. I’m definitely loving your blog and look forward to
    new posts.

  59. This is such an excellent post, and was thinking much the
    same myself. Another excellent update.

  60. more says:

    You’re so great! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before.
    So wonderful to find a person with some unique thoughts on this
    subject. really thank you for starting this up. this website is one thing that’s wanted online, somebody
    with a bit of originality. good job for bringing new things to the internet!

  61. I got what you mean, many thanks for posting.
    Woh I’m happy to discover this site.

  62. Korey says:

    Greetings! Marvelous article! I really like the way you reviewed Can the linear chromosome model
    be saved? . Excellent! It is undoubtedly one of one of the best online websites!
    It truly is a major joy to study subject matter brought on by this type awesome novelist .

    Just in many cases can prepare virtually the article author on this web pages.
    Lots of folks battle while using drafting .
    This is why, Investigate about how to get paper from newspapers simply writing sites.
    Comes with be sure that Simply put i won’t devote my current
    money on charade, My personal visit this website Korey in instances where I
    really could read through truthful and additionally competent critiques on of countless sending
    organisations

  63. I can’t recall the last time I really enjoyed an article as much as this one.

    You have went beyond my expectations on this subject matter and I
    totally agree with your points. You’ve done well
    with this.

Leave a Reply

