I GET IT!

Chromosomes are really boring to most people. Football and reality TV are far more entertaining to many folks.

In fact, science in general is boring to most people. And math? PUH! Forget it!

Most people could care less how buildings are put together, how cars, airplanes, trains, or electrical plants operate, how computers work, how anything works, i.e., until something goes wrong; something that affects them VERY personally.

When things don’t work, people become inconvenienced, or worse, horrified and outraged. They want to know why somebody had to die or get injured, or freeze to death in the middle of winter. Some law needs to be passed, a petition started, a suit filed, somebody should go to jail, somebody needs to PAY! These appliances or structures failed because somebody didn’t do their homework or cut corners to save money, right?

Well, think about chromosomes for a moment. As long as everything is going great, life is good. But what happens when something goes wrong…VERY wrong? It’s kind of like the 1975 Jaws movie when the major says to the sheriff: “You yell barracuda, everybody says, “Huh? What? You yell shark, we’ve got a panic on our hands on the Fourth of July.”

“You yell autoimmune disease, everybody says, Huh? What? “You yell cancer, we’ve got a panic on our hands on the Fourth of July.”

When your car engine fails to start, you have it hauled into a reputable mechanic and hope it can be fixed without breaking your budget, right?  You don’t want to have to bring it back week after week to keep getting it “fixed”, do you? Of course not? After a while, you begin to doubt that your mechanic even has a working knowledge of the engine, or worse, just ripping you off. What if you asked your mechanic about your engine and he said it works just like a 100 year old model T. Would you believe him? Surely not!

Do you see where I’m going with all of this? The scientific community still firmly believes in the model T version of the human chromosome. The possible reasons for this have been discussed at length in my web blog. Medicine is just now getting into cancer immunotherapy; something I suggested to Jonas Salk back in the 1960’s when I was still a kid! He even wrote me back and asked if I was working in the field! Previous to modern immunotherapy, scientists believed in burning the forest down in order to kill a weed (chemotherapy). In fact, they are still doing this! They flatly refuse to study anything that goes against this archaic outmoded T model concept. Or worse, they have studied it and swept their findings under the rug.

I presented my studies to the world over 25 years ago and the silence has been absolutely deafening! My results are all here on this web blog for anyone to see or discuss with me or anyone else regarding any shortcomings on my part. I have nothing to hide. Do they? Let me get right to the point: If you believe my research needs follow up and verification, then, by all means please tell me how to go about it in the absence of a venue and funding, because If I knew how to do it, believe you me, I would have done it a long time ago!

About frankabernathy

I am a retired cell biologist and alumnus of Ohio State University. I became interested in chromosomes as far back as the 1960's when I wrote a term paper on the effects of radiomimetic drugs on chromosomes. I was fascinated at how they could break apart and reform new structures so easily. I became further involved in the early 1970's after taking a cytogenetics course at the University of Arkansas. I took that knowledge with me to Ohio State in 1980 where I eventually worked on my research and completed my Ph.D. dissertation, "Studies on Eukaryotic DNA Superstructure". My studies and later research suggested that the DNA within the eukaryotic chromosome is not the simple, linear molecular thread so widely suggested in all the classic textbooks published today. Instead, it may be the culmination of a geologically rapid set of endosymbiotic events where microorganisms plug into each other to create something greater than themselves. Feel free to contact me at fabernathy@sbcglobal.net.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

