Evolution, the Dirty E Word That Refuses to Die

(Click here for the latest posts)

Theologians as well as others have been trying to stamp out evolution ever since the term first reared its ugly head in 1859 with the publishing of On the Origin of Species by Charles Darwin. Everybody knows the drill on this: Species are immutable and man was the last one created by God. It’s easy to see how early folks could latch onto this belief because from their perspective, wolves, bears, mountain lions, giraffes, lions, you name it, never seemed to change from one generation to another throughout the entire course of historical time.

Ignorance from lack of knowledge is one thing, however, willful ignorance is quite another. This kind of ignorance is very prevalent in all human fields of endeavor and is sometimes referred to as “drinking the kool aid” or “brain washing”. I suppose a more PC term would be indoctrination. Call it what you will, it is still the same phenomenon. It is the stubborn refusal to accept facts or analyze new evidence as it is uncovered over time. It is an irrational fear of letting the evidential chips fall where they may because of an intellectual, emotional, or other investment in power, prestige, position, reputation, etc. Any acceptance of even a small portion of such evidence could be perceived as a dangerous slippery slope to be avoided at all costs. It might snowball into something capable of generating an irreparable crack in the current belief system, rendering it vulnerable to significant alterations or even total destruction. Such destruction would go beyond simply shocking personal belief systems. It would also affect the bottom lines of many “businesses” posing as religious organizations that prey upon the naive and gullible. The Creation Museum in Petersburg, Kentucky is a poster child for this kind of toxic relationship. Having said all of that, if you are still with me at this point, I assume you are ready for a lesson on evolution.

The Theory of Evolution includes both microevolution and macroevolution. Microevolution has been proven beyond a shadow of a doubt. There is no theory involved here. When we discuss microevolution we can call it the law of microevolution rather than a theory. It satisfies all of the requirements for elevating biological phenomena to the status of a law. It is reproducible in laboratories under tightly controlled experimental conditions and has been reproduced ad nauseam by numerous scientists in myriad laboratories. It involves manipulating microorganisms and simple multicellular plants and animals which have short enough generation times for scientists to study. Contrast this to larger, more complex plants and animals whose generation times may require 20 years or more to study, hence the reason early people might have thought these organisms were immutable.

If you wish to learn more about how scientists study microevolution, you can do so by reading up on any number of genetic microbial textbooks. The concept of evolution depends upon the interplay of two factors: nature versus nurture. Scientists describe this in terms of DNA versus natural selection. It is possible to generate almost any kind of bacterium you desire simply based upon artificial selection in the laboratory. This artificial selection works the same way as natural selection but it is under controlled (artificial) conditions. Humans have also inadvertently used artificial selection in the creation of antibiotic resistant bacteria, DDT resistant flies, herbicide resistant weeds, the list goes on and on. Even ancient people knew they could select or breed in useful traits in livestock and plants while breeding out bad ones. They just didn’t understand the mechanisms behind it.

Macroevolution involves generation times beyond the scope of microevolution or even human existence. It requires extrapolating back in time based upon comparisons of sometimes sparse incomplete fossils discovered by chance. Comparisons of anatomy, embryology, DNA, and other biomolecules are also used. Unlike microevolution, macroevolution cannot be studied in real time because it has already happened and there are too many variables involved for controlled experimental testing. In this regard, it is very similar to forensic analyses. The inability to go back into time and study seminal events in macroevolution is the typical argument used by theologians in dismissing evolutionary theory, even going so far as to discredit it because nobody ever witnessed it happening. Based on such an argument, we may as well dismiss the Civil War as well, because no one alive ever personally witnessed it and everybody knows you can’t trust the dead, especially dinosaurs.

Perhaps my next post will go into more detail about the mechanics involved in studying microevolution. I am also considering the use of live streaming so people can ask me questions about what I am talking about or about previous posts that require clarification. All of my time-sensitive blog posts can be found under the page heading, “GENERAL POSTS”. I will announce any scheduled live streams on social media like Facebook and Twitter.

Thank you for your interest.

 

 

About frankabernathy

I am a retired cell biologist and alumnus of Ohio State University. I became interested in chromosomes as far back as the 1960's when I wrote a term paper on the effects of radiomimetic drugs on chromosomes. I was fascinated at how they could break apart and reform new structures so easily. I became further involved in the early 1970's after taking a cytogenetics course at the University of Arkansas. I took that knowledge with me to Ohio State in 1980 where I eventually worked on my research and completed my Ph.D. dissertation, "Studies on Eukaryotic DNA Superstructure". My studies and later research suggested that the DNA within the eukaryotic chromosome is not the simple, linear molecular thread so widely suggested in all the classic textbooks published today. Instead, it may be the culmination of a geologically rapid set of endosymbiotic events where microorganisms plug into each other to create something greater than themselves. Feel free to contact me at fabernathy@sbcglobal.net.
This entry was posted in evolution and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Evolution, the Dirty E Word That Refuses to Die

  1. Kiersten says:

    Ahaa, its good dialogue about this piece of writing here at this webpage, I have
    read all that, so now me also commenting at this place.

  2. You made some respectable points there. I looked on the internet for the
    issue and found most people will go along with your website.

  3. Marvelous, what a website it is! This weblog provides helpful data to us, keep it up.

  4. Your content is good as well as informative in my
    personal opinion. You have truly done lots of research on this
    topic.Thanks for sharing it.

  5. Hey I am so happy I find your website, I truly found you by mistake, while I was searching on yahoo for something else, Anyways I am here now and could just like
    to say many thanks for a marvelous post and entertaining website.
    Please do continue the truly amazing work.

  6. This is quite interesting, You’re a really skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward
    to reading more of your outstanding post. Furthermore,
    I have shared your site in my social networks!

  7. Wow! This could be one of the most useful blogs we’ve ever arrive across about this subject.Excellent.
    I’m also an expert in this topic hence I can understand your effort.

  8. Bret says:

    Hello, of course this post is really nice and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging.
    thanks. http://gabrielmoore7.wikidot.com/blog:4

  9. You’re so awesome! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before.
    So nice to find a person with some original thoughts on this subject.
    truly thank you for starting this up. this website is one thing
    that’s wanted on the web, somebody with some originality.
    great job for bringing something new to the internet!

  10. I recently noticed your website. You’ve got a plenty
    of information here that’s why i like it!

  11. I’m glad that I found this site, I got exactly
    the right information that I was searching for!

  12. apple says:

    It’s really a nice and useful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you just shared
    this helpful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this.
    Thanks for sharing.

  13. Yong says:

    A fascinating discussion is worth comment.
    I do believe that you need to publish more about this topic, it may not be a
    taboo matter but generally people don’t speak about such subjects.
    To the next! Kind regards!! http://addie79i4018798578.blog.fc2.com/blog-entry-3.html

  14. Torsten says:

    Hey there I am so delighted I found your blog page,
    I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a incredible post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read
    it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome jo. https://maggietrundle.wordpress.com/2016/12/29/truck-games-for-getting-double-a-lot-of-fun-and-adventure/

  15. Lilly says:

    Oh yeah, one other lie.

  16. Bradly says:

    Real informative and wonderful structure of content, now that’s user
    genial (:.

  17. Casimira says:

    A lot of thanks for all your valuable work on this
    site. My niece takes pleasure in setting aside time for
    investigations and it’s easy to see why. I notice all concerning the compelling tactic you give vital things via the web site and as well improve contribution from some other people on that point while our own girl
    is without a doubt becoming educated so much. Have fun with the remaining portion of the year.
    Your doing a dazzling job.

  18. Gene says:

    Real informative and fantastic anatomical structure of subject matter, now that’s user friendly (:.

  19. Michele says:

    I’m more than happy to uncover this web site. I want to to thank you for your time
    due to this fantastic read!! I definitely really liked every little bit of it and
    I have you saved as a favorite to see new stuff on your site.

  20. bit.ly says:

    Good post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always useful to read through articles from
    other authors and practice something from other web sites.

  21. Laura says:

    I like this web site very much, Its a very nice post to read and obtain info.

  22. Hiram says:

    I need to to thank you for this good read!! I absolutely
    loved every bit of it. I have got you bookmarked to check out new things you
    post…

  23. Claudette says:

    Good web site! I truly love how it is simple on my eyes
    and the data are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made.
    I have subscribed to your feed which must do the trick!
    Have a nice day!

  24. Hassie says:

    Hurrah! After all I got a website from where I be able to actually get helpful facts regarding my study and knowledge. http://osgof.gov.ng/?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=364254

  25. After I found this website I went on reddit to share it to
    others.

  26. 1 says:

    What I really like about this blog is that here I see those topics that really matters to me.
    Today the education for me personally is the important issue and, by way of example, Evolution, the Dirty E Word That Refuses to Die certainly
    uncovers the circumstance. http://bit.ly/2pVjSWi

  27. Trista says:

    Asking questions are in fact nice thing if you are not understanding something entirely,
    but this post offers fastidious understanding yet. http://xn--80ajaazfvdci6f.xn--p1ai/node/234290

  28. Hello, I enjoy reading all of your post. I
    like to write a little comment to support you.

  29. site says:

    I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This article
    posted at this website is truly nice.

  30. Great information. Lucky me I came across your website by accident (stumbleupon).
    I have saved it for later!

  31. Sincᥱ the admin оf thіs site is worҝing, no doubt very quickly it will bе famous, due to its quality contentѕ. http://www.timecode.org/

  32. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one today..

  33. Solomon says:

    Incredible points. Great arguments. Keep up the
    amazing effort. http://www.ilmioinstallatore.it/component/k2/itemlist/user/1101.html

  34. The article posted was very insightful as well as practical.
    You people are doing an excellent job. Keep posting.

  35. I was honored to obtain a call from a friend immediately he
    identified the important tips shared in your site. Studying your blog posting is a real
    brilliant experience. Many thanks for taking into
    account readers much like me, and I desire for you the best of achievements like
    a professional in this topic.

  36. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.

    Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  37. I have recently started a site, the information you offer on this website has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  38. Great write-up, I am regular visitor of one’s blog, maintain up the nice operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

  39. What’s up, just wanted to mention, I liked this post. It was
    practical. Keep on posting!

  40. I constantly spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s articles or reviews all the time along with a
    cup of coffee.

  41. .WIa-RlzLlSo says:

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your
    web site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing too your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly. http://Surfingbird.ru/surf/seo-expert-los-angeles-social-media-management–ynM3839c9?stat_counter=feed&feedtype=pintfeed

  42. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you,
    However I am having difficulties with your RSS. I don’t know why
    I can’t join it. Is there anybody getting identical RSS problems?

    Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

