Peer Review versus Censorship

Peer review is a time honored system whereby fellow scientists test each other’s data to insure they are both credible and reproducible. It is the gold standard upon which all scientific works should be based. It makes sense because it works very well as long as independent laboratories are involved in the pursuit of knowledge for it’s own sake and in doing so, rooting out bad or fabricated results. Hopefully, one perk of such vetted knowledge would be an application to real world agendas relating to medicine, agriculture, environmental sustainability, peaceful technology, living spaces, transportation, energy sources, and other areas.

However, this definition of peer review is quite idealistic. It is something for which we should all strive but which in reality sometimes gets stifled, perverted, and even used to promote outright fabrications that support one particular agenda or another. You see this on Facebook everyday, it’s called fake news. Other related terms are: lying with statistics, intimidating verbiage to foster a sense of expertise that cannot be questioned, outright bullying, and obfuscation. Sadly, this is not even the worst of it. Sometimes, groups go so far as to initiate outright censorship. My work described in this blog is a case in point.

Now, you may say that my work is not being censored because you are reading about it here on this blog. That’s true for now, but try reading about it anywhere else on the internet, especially in peer-reviewed journals. This work is over 25 years old! If you are lucky enough to find anything about it at all, it will probably be dismissive in nature. This lack of credibility is not the result of peer review but the complete absence of it! Please take some time to think about this very important distinction. One cannot adequately evaluate that which one refuses to evaluate, i.e. a Catch 22. Now the next question is fairly obvious: Why would scientists refuse to evaluate data? Why indeed! I can only speculate, so I will submit two hypotheses:

1) Intellectual fatigue generates single mindedness and finally tunnel vision. Most academic scientists have to fight tooth and nail for every government dollar they get. They get tired of this nonsense, like anyone else. This will only get worse over time, and the temptation to cross over to the “dark side” of corporate interests and monied agendas will continue to grow as government dollars become more and more scarce. These scientists are usually overworked, understaffed, short on time, and under extreme pressure to get “safe” papers published. New discoveries may seem interesting to them, but they rationalize that someone else can do this work. In other words, a pocket veto occurs. They may do a cursory review of the literature to justify their lack of further interest and finding nothing, the matter ends, and so it goes around and around.

2) Dogmatic territoriality, a condition in which entrenched dogma becomes protected by those with a personal investment in its survival. Rigid filters are applied to incoming data to sort out any results that threaten the status quo. In this way, more and more papers pile up, reinforcing the notion that true peer review has been achieved based solely upon the plethora of trees that have been cut down in order to justify it. Or as they say in politics, if you repeat a lie often enough, people start to believe it.

I am quite confident that other scientists have shared this same fate as will others in the future. The most insidious effect of all this is self-censorship to avoid “rocking the boat” in order to sustain credentials and continued employment. Perhaps a better term would be pre-peer review, a process by which data is ignored or discredited based upon opinions, “gut” feelings, rigid agendas, or because such data would expose criminal fraud. Let me put it another way: To get to the truth, you must follow the data. If this cannot be done because of censorship, then it’s time to follow the money.

About frankabernathy

I am a retired cell biologist and alumnus of Ohio State University. I became interested in chromosomes as far back as the 1960's when I wrote a term paper on the effects of radiomimetic drugs on chromosomes. I was fascinated at how they could break apart and reform new structures so easily. I became further involved in the early 1970's after taking a cytogenetics course at the University of Arkansas. I took that knowledge with me to Ohio State in 1980 where I eventually worked on my research and completed my Ph.D. dissertation, "Studies on Eukaryotic DNA Superstructure". My studies and later research suggested that the DNA within the eukaryotic chromosome is not the simple, linear molecular thread so widely suggested in all the classic textbooks published today. Instead, it may be the culmination of a geologically rapid set of endosymbiotic events where microorganisms plug into each other to create something greater than themselves. Feel free to contact me at fabernathy@sbcglobal.net.
This entry was posted in Fallacies in science. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peer Review versus Censorship

  1. Frank says:

    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to
    browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the
    info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I
    get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, very good blog!

  2. Bonnie says:

    I have been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found
    any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the
    net will bee much more useful than ever before.|
    I could nott redist commenting. Welll written!|
    I will immediately grssp your rss as I can’t to find your
    email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you’ve any?
    Kindly let mme know so that I may subscribe. Thanks.|
    It is appropriate time too make some plans for thhe future and it’s tme to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I wsnt to suggest you some intereating things or
    tips. Maybe yoou can write next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read more things about it!|
    It is perfeht time to make some plans foor the future and it is time to be
    happy. I have read thhis submit and iif I may I desire to suggest yyou some interesting things
    or advice. Mybe you caan write subsequent
    articles referring to this article. I want to learn more issues
    approximately it!|
    I’ve been surfing on-line more than 3 hours as of late, yet I by
    no means discovered any interesting article lik yours. It’s beautiful price enough for me.
    In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made just right content as yoou did,
    the web might be much more useful than ever before.|
    Ahaa, its good dialogue regarding this paragraph at this plkace at
    this weblog, I have read all that, so at this time
    me also commenting here.|
    I am sure this poist has touched alll the internet visitors, its really
    really nice post on building up new weblog.|
    Wow, thi paragraph is good, my younger sister is analyzing
    these things, therefore I am going too convey her.|
    bookmarked!!, I really like your web site!|
    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate youu penning this post
    and the rest of the sife is also really good.|
    Hi, I do think this is a great website. I stumbledupon it
    😉 I’m gping to return once again since i have safed ass a favorite it.

    Money andd freedomm is the bbest way to change, may
    you be rich and continue to help other people.|
    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard
    to get tjat “perfect balance” between usability and appearance.
    I must say that you’ve done a very goood job with this. In addition, tthe blog loads
    extremely fast foor mme on Firefox. Exceptional Blog!|
    These are genuinely wonderful ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touchesd some good things here. Any way keep up wrinting.|
    I really like what yyou guys are usually up too. Such clever work and reporting!

    Keep up the great works guys I’ve included you guys
    to my own blogroll.|
    Hi there! Someone inn my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to give it
    a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to mmy followers!
    Superb blog and amazing design.|
    I love what you guys are usually up too. This sort of clever work
    and reporting! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve added you guys
    to my own blogroll.|
    Hi would you mind stating which blog platfform you’re working with?
    I’m going to start my oown blog in thee near future but I’m having a hard time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. Thee reason I ask is because your design seewms
    different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!|
    Hi there wokuld you mind letting me know which web host you’re using?

    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I
    must say this blog load a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a hhonest price?

    Kudos, I apprreciate it!|
    I love it whewn people get together andd share opinions.

    Great website, keep it up!|
    Thank you foor the good writeup. It in fact was a amusemenbt account it.
    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, hhow can we communicate?|
    Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The tezt in your
    content seem to be running off the screen in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is
    a format issue oor something to do with browser compatibility
    but I figured I’d post to let you know. The design and style look great though!

    Hope you get the problem fixed soon. Cheers|
    This is a topic that’s near to myy heart… Take care!
    Where are your contact details though?|
    It’s very trouble-free too find out any topic on net as
    compared to books, as I found this article at this website.|
    Does your blog have a contaft page? I’m having priblems locating it but, I’d like
    tto send you an e-mail. I’ve got ssome sugestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.|
    Hey there! I’ve been reading your website for a long time
    now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out
    from Dallas Texas! Just wanted to mention keep upp the excellent work!|
    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out
    your website on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy thee information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look
    when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick ylur blog loaded on my celll phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, awesome blog!|
    Its such as you learn my thoughts! You appear to understand so much approximaztely this,
    such as you wrote the e-book inn it orr something.
    I believe that you simply could do with a few p.c.
    to force the message house a bit, however other than that, this
    is fantastic blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.|
    I visited multiple blogs however the audio feature for
    audio songs present at this site iis really wonderful.|
    Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own a smilar one and i was just wondering
    if you gget a lot of spam remarks? If so how do you prevent it, any
    pugin or anything you can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support iss very much appreciated.|
    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post!
    It is the little changes that make the biggest changes.
    Many thanks ffor sharing!|
    I truly love your website.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself? Please reply back ass
    I’m hoping to create my very own website and would like to know where you got this from or wht the thsme is named.
    Appreciate it!|
    Howdy! This blog post could not be written uch better!
    Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He constantly kept talking about this. I’ll forward this article to him.
    Fairly certain he’ll hae a great read. I appreciate you for sharing!|
    Incredible! This blog looks just like my
    old one! It’s on a totally different subject but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Great choice of colors!|
    There is definately a great deal to learn about this subject.
    I llike all the points you’ve made.|
    You made some decent points there. I checked on the internet to find out more about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this web site.|
    What’s up, I check your blogs regularly. Your writing style is awesome,
    keep it up!|
    I just couldn’t depart yyour wweb site before suggesting that I really loved
    the standard info an individual supply for your guests? Is
    going to be back incessantly to inspect new posts|
    I want to to thank you for this great read!! I abswolutely
    enjoyed ever littpe bit of it. I have gott you bookmarked to look at new stuff you post…|
    Hi there, just wanted to say, I enjoyed this article. It was inspiring.Keep on posting!|
    Hi there, I enjoy reading all of your post. I wanted to write
    a little comment too support you.|
    Ialways spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s articles or reviews every day along with
    a cup of coffee.|
    I all the time emailed this weblog post page
    to aall my associates, as if like tto read it next
    my friends will too.|
    My pogrammer is trying tto persuade mme to move to .net from PHP.

    I have always disliked the idea because oof the costs. But he’s
    tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on various websites
    for about a yesar and am concerned aboout switching to another platform.

    I have heard excellentt things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any kind of help wouuld bbe greatly appreciated!|
    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited thbis site before but after looking at
    a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow,
    I’m definitely plesed I stumbled uoon it and I’ll be book-marking it and
    checking back often!|
    Terrific work! That is the type of info that
    should be shared across the internet. Shame on Goofle forr no longer
    positioning this put up higher! Come on over and talk over with my web site .
    Thanks =)|
    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board aand I ind It truly
    useful & it heloed me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid
    others like you helped me.|
    Howdy, I believe your site could possibly bee having browser compatibility
    issues. When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine
    however when opening iin IE, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Apart from that, wonderful website!|
    A person essentially lend a hand to make critically pots I might state.
    This is the very first timke I frequented your web page and up to now?

    I surprised with the research yoou made to create thi particular post extraordinary.
    Wonderfful task!|
    Heya i’m for tthe first time here. I came across this board and I find
    It truly useful & it helped me out much. I am hopping to present one thing again and help otners such as you helped me.|
    Hey there! I simply would like to give you a big thumbs up for your excellent information you have got here
    on this post. I’ll be coming back to your web site
    for more soon.|
    I all the time used too read article in news papers but noww as I am a user
    of internet therefore frdom now I am using net ffor content,thanks to web.|
    Yourr method of explaining the whole thing in this piece of writing is really nice, all be capable of simply understand it, Thanks a lot.|
    Hi there, I discovered your blog by the use of Google whilst
    searching forr a similar matter, your web site cme up, it appears too
    be like good. I have bookmarked it in my goolgle bookmarks.

    Hello there, just changed into aware of your blog thru Google, and located that it’s truly informative.
    I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if yyou happen to proceed this in future.
    Numerous other folks willl likely bbe benefited out of
    your writing. Cheers!|
    I’m curious to find out what blog platform you
    are using? I’m experiencing some small security issues wijth my
    lateest site and I would like to find something moe
    safeguarded. Do you have any recommendations?|
    I am really impressed with your writing skills as well
    as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme orr did you modify it yourself?

    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a
    nice blog like this one nowadays.|
    I’m extremely inspired together with your writing abilities
    and also with the structure on your blog. Is that this a paid topic or did you modiffy it your self?
    Anyway stay up the nice high quality writing, it’s rare to seee a nice weblog like this one these days..|
    Hello, Neaat post. There’s a problem along with yoir
    web site in internet explorer, could check this? IE still is the marketplace leader andd
    a large section of pesople will omit your great writing
    becdause of this problem.|
    I am noot sure where yyou are getting your information,but good topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding
    more. Thanks for magnificent information I was looking for this information for my mission.|
    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog so i csme to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to enhance my
    web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ide\

  3. Roberto says:

    I am genuinely pleased to glance at this web site posts which contains plenty of valuable information, thanks
    for providing these statistics.

Leave a Reply

