Would you like to help?

I have been getting lots of favorable comments on my blogs recently and I will go out on a limb by assuming the majority of them are “real”. Please understand I am an old school baby boomer who has a lot of trouble trying to keep up with everything the kids are doing online these days. Back in my day, I used a manual typewriter and lots of whiteout. In school, I actually had to go to the library to find most things out. As everyone knows, what is real and what is fake is becoming increasingly more difficult to discern. It certainly tries your intellect and forces you to do more research. Of course, nobody has enough time in the day to research everything posted on the web and that includes me. Having said all of that, let me explain the reason for this posting.

I sense that people like what I post as long as it’s not too arcane. However, the reason for all the postings is to draw people’s attention to the research I have done over the years, particularly at Ohio State University.  Assuming I accomplish this, I try to help them understand that my laboratory research came to a screeching halt about 25 years ago. Beyond that point, all “my” research was “dry” as opposed to “wet”, i.e., bench work was impossible so I did paper research instead, while I worked for a living. Actually, scientists should always do both, but in my case, I had no other choice. I have gone to great lengths to explain the fallacies behind “big” science and why coloring outside the lines of dogma is strongly discouraged and even censured.  It is much worse than mere prima donna ego bruising. Corporations discourage any research that fails to promote their products or machinations. In my case, I believe it is a prima donna territorial thing rather than corporate intrigue. In either case, the bottom line is still the same: censorship.

I have watched Neil deGrasse Tyson videos on Facebook where he croons eloquently about the virtues of science, the scientific method, and peer review. He sounds very much like a politician or salesman discussing the virtues of a particular political viewpoint. It all sounds nice, neat, sanitized,  and so right. In reality, it’s all rigged. People are mad about Trump cutting science funding, leaving the climate agreement, cutting social programs, etc etc.  Maybe he knows bad deals when he sees them. I didn’t vote for Trump or Hillary, but right now, he’s all we’ve got. So, I want to make one final statement here: Is there anybody out there in the blogosphere who would like to see me continue doing my research? If so, please send me an e mail at fabernathy@sbcglobal.net. Don’t just post a comment. If I see enough interest, I will post another blog about possible ways to go about doing just that, and yes, it will involve money, but not nearly as much as you might think. Otherwise, thanks for all your comments, real or otherwise.

Frank Abernathy, Ph.D.

About frankabernathy

I am a retired cell biologist and alumnus of Ohio State University. I became interested in chromosomes as far back as the 1960's when I wrote a term paper on the effects of radiomimetic drugs on chromosomes. I was fascinated at how they could break apart and reform new structures so easily. I became further involved in the early 1970's after taking a cytogenetics course at the University of Arkansas. I took that knowledge with me to Ohio State in 1980 where I eventually worked on my research and completed my Ph.D. dissertation, "Studies on Eukaryotic DNA Superstructure". My studies and later research suggested that the DNA within the eukaryotic chromosome is not the simple, linear molecular thread so widely suggested in all the classic textbooks published today. Instead, it may be the culmination of a geologically rapid set of endosymbiotic events where microorganisms plug into each other to create something greater than themselves. Feel free to contact me at fabernathy@sbcglobal.net.
This entry was posted in cancer, cell cycle, evolution, Fallacies in science, Introduction, mitosis, Stem Cells, virus and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

