Let me make this as simple as possible

Folks, I understand not everybody’s into chromosomes or how they’re put together. I get that. In fact, a lot of people are not that much into science…period! I get that as well. Science can be tough to understand, even for the best of scientists. So let me make this as simple as possible. Below is a diagram of what most biologists believe is the structure of chromosomes such as our own:

Classic Model of Linear Chromosome

It’s pretty basic stuff. A single chromosomal DNA strand is pushed together as loops which are, themselves, wound up into supercoils until it looks like a chromosome under the microscope. We won’t go into all the reasons for these assumptions here. You can read more about this in the blog.

Ok, enough of that. Now we come to another model (my model) which is about as different from the linear DNA model as you can get:

Circular Model of Chromosome.jpg

Don’t freak, just skip to the part where you see circles. Can you tell the difference in the two models? The classic model is a simple, glorified piece of string. My model is a complex set of circular chromatin structures, paired together to form a vast array. Ok, nuff said. Which model best explains the evidence shown below:

 

slide 6

slide 7

DNA 35 mm slides_Page_004 copy

Do these things look like strings to you or do they look like circles? Take all the time you need. All done? Good! I am going to go out on a limb and venture to guess that you think they look like circles rather than strings. So far, so good, unless you happen to be an extremely dogmatic DNA scientist who’s full of themselves or one that’s afraid of losing their job for stating the obvious. Don’t believe me? Go ahead, pull any biology book off the shelf and see what they have to say about chromosome structure, or for that matter, just do a Google search. They all say the same insipid, brain dead thing. Chromosomes contain a single linear strand of DNA. They base all of this on telomere theories which were constructed to explain how “linear” chromosomes replicate. They looked high and low for enzymes that could do the job they were looking for. They were so busy cherry picking data to fit their theory that they overlooked or ignored my research which is obvious to any two year old that understands basic shapes. This is a classic example of the emperor having no clothes on and all of his minions being too damn afraid to tell him so. Well, I’m telling him so, and I’ve been doing it for about 25 years now!

If you would like to help push chromosome research out of the 19th century and into the 21st century where it belongs (too late for the 20th), please contact me. I may be 69 and retired but I still have all my mental faculties and I realize how important it is to understand chromosome structure. It could even be a matter of life or death for some people! I can be reached at fabernathy@sbcglobal.net. Otherwise, I’ll just practice my piano, instead. I have played on cruise ships for free and gotten accolades from passengers and staff, but apparently I’m too damn old to work on one. Talk about ageism! Guess I’ll just stick to skiing, doing pushups, riding my bike, and aggravating my grandkids, instead; oh, and aggravating scientists too!

 

About frankabernathy

I am a retired cell biologist and alumnus of Ohio State University. I became interested in chromosomes as far back as the 1960's when I wrote a term paper on the effects of radiomimetic drugs on chromosomes. I was fascinated at how they could break apart and reform new structures so easily. I became further involved in the early 1970's after taking a cytogenetics course at the University of Arkansas. I took that knowledge with me to Ohio State in 1980 where I eventually worked on my research and completed my Ph.D. dissertation, "Studies on Eukaryotic DNA Superstructure". My studies and later research suggested that the DNA within the eukaryotic chromosome is not the simple, linear molecular thread so widely suggested in all the classic textbooks published today. Instead, it may be the culmination of a geologically rapid set of endosymbiotic events where microorganisms plug into each other to create something greater than themselves. Feel free to contact me at fabernathy@sbcglobal.net.
This entry was posted in cancer, cell cycle, cellular differentiation, endosymbionts, evolution, Fallacies in science, mitosis, Stem Cells, virus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

