What Does it Mean When People Download my Data?

Well, let’s try to put things into perspective by starting with citations. Scientists cite each others work by mentioning their papers both within the content and reference sections of their papers. For most publications, being cited is as rare as hens teeth. Click on the link above to get a frame of reference on what I’m talking about here. For example, top rated physicists average about 200 citations per year. Keep that number in mind as I proceed further in this post. When a scientist’s work is cited in a paper, it means that part or all of that paper was read by the author of the paper in which it was cited. It is implied that by doing so, the work was used to some degree in the development of the citing author’s newly published paper.

So far, so good.

That was the “good old days”. Nowadays, anyone with a little “computer know how” can self publish online. Many who do have a single goal in mind: They want their posts to go viral so they can monetize it on You Tube or some other platform. This leads to yellow journalism on steroids. I’m letting you know up front that I have never made any money posting on this blog, EVER!

So why do I post here? What’s my motivation? Well, you may find this very difficult to believe, but I post here because I believe in what I’m doing and have for a very long time. I am a scientist, tried and true. Real scientists, i.e., scientists that care about what they publish for the best of reasons; not just to get grants, prestige, and acceptance are very hard to come by these days. Another rare skill is the ability of scientists to relate to the common man, whoever he may be. In others words, scientists who can actually teach non-scientists about science. Hopefully, I fall into that category. I try anyway.

So, the gold standard of scientific publishing is receiving citations from other scientists. This requires that their original works first be peer reviewed and accepted for publication by an established scientific journal; otherwise, there is nothing there to be cited.

At this point, you may be wondering where I’m going with all of this. Ok, I’ll tell you. My three scientific manuscripts relating to my Ph.D. dissertation have never been published in any scientific journals: ever! I assume they were far too controversial at the time. That was over 30 years ago. However, that alone doesn’t mean the content is not worthy of consideration. So I began to self publish my work online, all for free. Most of it is right here on this blog. I have also made many informational videos that I put up on You Tube and Bitchute, many of which you can watch right from this blog. My three OSU manuscripts as well as other related data are freely available for download from this site.

So you may ask, why would anyone want to download an entire manuscript that has never seen the light of day in established scientific journals? Hmmm, good question. Perhaps they liked some of my videos and decided to take the next step. Hard to say. However one thing seems fairly obvious: They are indeed downloading my data, including manuscripts and even my dissertation! WordPress stats tells me this. Check out these charts to see what’s been going on. Click on the image to enlarge it.

Let me walk you through these charts as quickly and painlessly as possible. First off, ARR stands for alkali resistant RNA. These are the manuscripts that were never published by conventional journals. Yet, here they are, being downloaded faster than citations can get cited. Notice the upward trend on these charts? And we are barely into 2024! Remember when I said that papers receiving 200 citations per year were top tier? (first paragraph). Well, many of my downloads in 2024 alone are well above 200, and we’re not even 5 months into the year!

Should you be downloading any of this? If you’re a scientist, go for it! If you’re not, you might want to watch some of the videos instead.

Evolution4.wordpress.com

About frankabernathy

I am a retired cell biologist and alumnus of Ohio State University. I became interested in chromosomes as far back as the 1960's when I wrote a term paper on the effects of radiomimetic drugs on chromosomes. I was fascinated at how they could break apart and reform new structures so easily. I became further involved in the early 1970's after taking a cytogenetics course at the University of Arkansas. I took that knowledge with me to Ohio State in 1980 where I eventually worked on my research and completed my Ph.D. Dissertation, "Studies on Eukaryotic DNA Superstructure". My studies and later research suggested that the DNA within the eukaryotic chromosome is not the simple, linear molecular thread so widely suggested in all the classic textbooks published today. Instead, it may be the culmination of a rapid set of endosymbiotic events where microorganisms plug into each other to create something greater than themselves. Feel free to contact me at fabernathy@sbcglobal.net.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.