The Evolution of Cliques, Cults, and Dogma (part 1)

People have a need for acceptance, some more than others. This, in and of itself, is not an issue. Problems arise when the need for acceptance becomes toxic. For example, when people join cliques it is generally understood that such cliques are selective in their membership. This requires pre-judging people, usually based on their looks, attire, or status in the community, e.g., rich. Basically “who you know”, not what you know” rules the day. Further problems arise when these cliques evolve into cults. Reasons for this can be varied but the end result is suppression of critical thinking, “group think” and at the worst, brainwashing. Such cults generate their own dogma which is beyond questioning, further isolating themselves from mainstream thinking and more importantly, reality.

Ok you say, this is pretty much common knowledge. Well, sure it is, but it doesn’t stop at what most people consider to be cults. This kind of phenomenon can scale up to include entire professions where the stakes also include growth of professional status and gainful employment. Peer pressure at this level can be both subtle and stifling. Toeing the line and coloring within the box leads to a very comfortable existence. Do this and short of layoffs, you will never ever feel the pressure. This also includes publications which may be little more than a plethora of recycled dogma. 

All of this can happen without the least bit of corruption. That’s what makes it so toxic. Everything seems to be going along swimmingly well, when in fact, it is quite the opposite. Such businesses or professions become evolutionary dead ends, self satisfied as they wait patiently for an extinction event to seal their fates.

A case in point is science. In my case, biological science. I have spent over 30 years writing about this phenomenon in one form or another. I colored way outside the lines in graduate school and paid dearly for it. I got zero manuscripts published and was flat out told by one particular professor and I quote: “They will kill you for this!” Boy was he ever right! I actually did unpaid post doc work to continue my research in my spare time as I worked other unrelated research positions at my alma mater. The discoveries I made during my “post doc” absolutely astounded me. I couldn’t have been more pleased with the results. However, what astounded me even more was the apparent utter lack of interest in what I was reporting. I couldn’t believe it. Imagine landing on the moon for the first time and people just yawning and moving on. I couldn’t understand it. I was completely flabbergasted. I still am. So what’s going on here? What I discovered turns the idea of mammalian linear chromosomes on its head. There is no way they can contain a single linear strand of DNA and explain the myriad circular structures I managed to isolate from the nuclei of mouse cells. There’s nothing subtle about this. It’s right in your face, plain as day and yet, nothing but crickets. Absolutely mind blowing to me. 

So, what’s actually going on here? That question has haunted me for over 30 years. It’s still hard for me to come to grips with it. I thought science was all about discovery, real discovery, unique discoveries, the more mind blowing the better. Based upon what I’ve seen, this is absolutely not the case at all. So, if science is not really about applauding discovery wherever it occurs, what is it really all about?

I can only come up with the following conclusions: 

1) It’s about maintaining the status quo by publishing only those results that support it. 

2) It’s about who did the discovery. 

3) Some combination of 1 and 2. 

If even one of my conclusions is true, it is indeed a damning indictment of the way science is being done today. The utter lack of interest or fear of following up on my work or even talking to me about it is quite convicting.

So what should you as a reader do about any of this?

Well, unlike people who download my data and manuscripts without identifying themselves, show an interest by asking me questions. Here’s a good one: What significance do these discoveries have on science? Better yet, what significance do they have on you and yours?

Also, check out my website and you tube videos by clicking the links below.

Frank W. Abernathy, Ph.D. (fabernathy@sbcglobal.net)

STUDIES ON EUKARYOTIC DNA SUPERSTRUCTURE

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLbnsB-6oAvg4lLcQfsb6vA

About frankabernathy

I am a retired cell biologist and alumnus of Ohio State University. I became interested in chromosomes as far back as the 1960's when I wrote a term paper on the effects of radiomimetic drugs on chromosomes. I was fascinated at how they could break apart and reform new structures so easily. I became further involved in the early 1970's after taking a cytogenetics course at the University of Arkansas. I took that knowledge with me to Ohio State in 1980 where I eventually worked on my research and completed my Ph.D. Dissertation, "Studies on Eukaryotic DNA Superstructure". My studies and later research suggested that the DNA within the eukaryotic chromosome is not the simple, linear molecular thread so widely suggested in all the classic textbooks published today. Instead, it may be the culmination of a rapid set of endosymbiotic events where microorganisms plug into each other to create something greater than themselves. Feel free to contact me at fabernathy@sbcglobal.net.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.