Compartmentalization, is it Good or Bad? (part 2)

People feel most comfortable in their own personal and professional bubbles. It’s perfectly natural and not necessarily a bad thing. I do it myself. I mean, you need an escape from the constant barrage of agenda oriented information (like mine, for example). But since you’re here, I’ll be as brief as I can. 

Compartmentalization can be very protective and good for your mental health. However, the flip side is that it can lead to intellectual laziness. Being continuously comfortable is not always a good thing. I’m sure you know that.  For example, what if my discoveries were acted upon by the scientific community? I’m not saying they aren’t. Lots of data has been downloaded from my site over the years.  The fact that there is a lack of communication between the downloaders and myself is not proof of anything, good or bad. But look at it from my point of view. I get virtually no feedback on anything I post that suggests my research is helping move science forward. I get lots of comments, most of which appear genuinely appreciative of my work.  But the gatekeepers of biological research are silent about this. No citations, no communications, nothing. Look, my research could be much ado about nothing. But what if it isn’t? What if those DNA- stained beaded circles are telling us a story about how our chromosomes are actually put together? What if?  It could completely alter how we study genetic diseases like cancer. Here’s the problem. No one is following up on what I did or if they are, I am totally unaware of it. The amount of time, money, manpower, and lab space that would be required to at least reproduce my work is absolutely miniscule compared to something like military spending. I would say much much less than say the cost of one tenth of a single cruise missile. Such an amount wouldn’t even register on the pentagon spending meter.

This is why feedback and communication is so important in science or any human endeavor.  I have experiments waiting on the back burner that would help clarify what these circles are. What I don’t have is a laboratory space in which to do them. I am 76 years old and fully retired, but don’t let that fool you.  I am still fully capable of doing these experiments on my own.  I only need the space, equipment, and supplies necessary to do them. There are laboratories everywhere in my area, some are probably short on money. Don’t think for a minute they wouldn’t pony up some “dusty” empty lab space if it gave them a shot at some notoriety with no cost to them. 

So what are the actual stakes here? Worst case scenario. All my experiments yield no additional information or trivialize what I have found. Yes, that could happen. That’s how science works. The more novel the experiment, the greater the risk of failure.  However, even failure can lead to new discoveries. But let’s stick with negativity here. Assume absolutely nothing of any “value” comes out of these experiments. Well, actually even that’s not true. At least you wouldn’t have to read my posts anymore (hope you don’t believe that one!) 

So what happens next? Well, the lab space gets mothballed again and the taxpayers lose one half of one tenth of a cruise missile that could have been used to kill and maim a bunch of humans somewhere, i.e., if it could ever have been found again in a veritable ocean of ordnance.

Best case scenario? I’ve already discussed that ad nauseum, throughout my entire blog and videos: fabernathy@sbcglobal.net

About frankabernathy

I am a retired cell biologist and alumnus of Ohio State University. I became interested in chromosomes as far back as the 1960's when I wrote a term paper on the effects of radiomimetic drugs on chromosomes. I was fascinated at how they could break apart and reform new structures so easily. I became further involved in the early 1970's after taking a cytogenetics course at the University of Arkansas. I took that knowledge with me to Ohio State in 1980 where I eventually worked on my research and completed my Ph.D. Dissertation, "Studies on Eukaryotic DNA Superstructure". My studies and later research suggested that the DNA within the eukaryotic chromosome is not the simple, linear molecular thread so widely suggested in all the classic textbooks published today. Instead, it may be the culmination of a rapid set of endosymbiotic events where microorganisms plug into each other to create something greater than themselves. Feel free to contact me at fabernathy@sbcglobal.net.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.